Individuals

Where's My Refund
Check on the status of your individual income refund.
File & Pay Online
File your taxes online. It's absolutely free.
Update Your Address
Ensure we have your latest address on file.
More

Businesses

LaTAP
Access your account online. File returns and make payments.
Parish E-File
Submit state and local sales and use tax returns and remittances from one centralized site
Register a Business
Online applications to register a business.
More

Tax Preparers

Filing Deadlines
Find out when all state tax returns are due.
Bulk Extensions
File your clients' Individual, Corporate and Composite Partnership extension in bulk.
Credit Caps
See the estimated amount of cap available for Solar tax credits and Motion Picture Investor and Infrastructure tax credits.
More

News Releases

Millions in unclaimed tax refunds headed for Unclaimed Property unless taxpayers take action...Continue Reading

 

BATON ROUGE – Millions of dollars in state income tax refunds will become unclaimed property if taxpayers don’t claim them by September 6, 2017.

 

The Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR) sent letters to 9,500 taxpayers advising them to claim the refunds before they are transferred by law to the Unclaimed Property Division of the state treasurer’s office. The letters are dated July 21, 2017.

 

The total amount of unclaimed refunds involved is $8.6 million. It includes refunds issued on or before June 30, 2016.

 

Taxpayers who want to claim a refund before it reverts to unclaimed property must submit the required information to the Department of Revenue accompanied by the letter. If they miss the September 6 deadline, they can claim their refunds through the state treasurer’s Unclaimed Property website.

 

 

State sales tax discount in effect August 4 & 5...Continue Reading

 

BATON ROUGE – Back-to-school supplies, electronics, appliances and most other retail purchases are subject to reduced sales tax during the 2017 Louisiana Annual Sales Tax Holiday Friday, August 4 and Saturday, August 5.

 

During these two days, most purchases of tangible personal property are subject to only three percent state sales tax instead of the full five percent. The exemption applies to the first $250o of the purchase price of each eligible item when the customer:

 

  • Buys and accepts delivery of eligible property;
  • Places property on layaway;
  • Acquires property that was previously placed on layaway; or
  • Places an order for immediate delivery, even if the delivery must be delayed, provided the customer has not requested delayed delivery

 

The sales tax holiday does not apply to:

 

  • Vehicles subject to title and license;
  • Meals prepared for consumption on premises or to-go; and
  • Taxable services such as hotel occupancy, laundry services, printing services, telecommunication services, the furnishing of cold storage space, leases or rentals of tangible personal property, repairs to tangible personal property, and admission to athletic, amusement, or recreational facilities or events

 

This sales tax reduction applies only to the state sales tax.

 

Read Revenue Information Bulletin 17-013 for more information.

 

Back-to-School Tax Deductions

 

The Louisiana Department of Revenue reminds shoppers to retain receipts for back-to-school items such as supplies, uniforms, and equipment required by schools. These purchases may qualify for tax deductions on 2017 Louisiana Individual Income Tax Returns due May 15, 2018. The deductions apply to educational expenses for public, private, parochial, and home schools. To claim the deductions, you must be able to claim the student as a dependent on your state individual income tax return, and you must provide documentation for the expenses.

 

For more information about the Louisiana School Tuition and Expense Tax Deductions, visit www.revenue.louisiana.gov/SchoolDeduction.

 

Payments authorized for solar energy system purchasers affected by tax credit cap...Continue Reading

 

BATON ROUGE – The Louisiana Department of Revenue will process and pay claims for state tax credits to owners of qualifying residential solar energy systems, some of whom were denied the payments after a cap was imposed on the tax credit program in 2015.

 

Act 413 of the 2017 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature fully funds the tax credit to cover eligible costs for qualifying systems purchased and installed on or before December 31, 2015. Credit payments will be issued in equal installments over three consecutive fiscal years:

 

·         2017-2018

·         2018-2019

·         2019-2020

 

The first payments will be issued between December 2017 and January 2018.

 

Louisiana taxpayers who purchased qualifying systems, and who did not submit solar tax credit claims previously, must file their claims by August 31, 2017. Claims must be filed electronically by submitting an original or amended state income tax return for the year in which the system was purchased and installed. All claims must be submitted with supporting documentation, as required by law.

 

Taxpayers who submitted claims that were denied because of the cap should not re-submit. They will be notified by mail about the status of their claims.

 

Visit www.revenue.louisiana.gov/SolarCredit for more information.

 

 

Filing Dates

08/21 Monday
Sales and Use Tax
Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications 911 Service Charge
Hotel Occupancy Tax
Ernest N. Morial New Orleans Exhibition Hall Authority Food and Beverage Tax
09/15 Friday
Declaration of Estimated Individual Income - 3rd Payment
Alcoholic Beverage Tax
09/20 Wednesday
Sales and Use Tax
Prepaid Wireless Telecommunications 911 Service Charge
Hotel Occupancy Tax
Ernest N. Morial New Orleans Exhibition Hall Authority Food and Beverage Tax

Important Announcements

More Important Announcements