
A Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is issued under the authority of LAC 61:III.101(D).  A RIB is an 
informal statement of information issued for the public and employees that is general in nature.  A RIB 
does not have the force and effect of law and is not binding on the public or the Department. 
 

Revenue Information Bulletin  
No. 08-022 

July 21, 2008 
Sales Taxes 

 Two Acts of the 2008 Second Extraordinary Session Provide State Sales Tax 
Reduction on Certain Nonresidential Utility and Energy Products  

Acts 1 and 9 of the 2008 Second Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature provide both 
a one percent reduction in the sales tax rate applicable to sales and purchases of certain utility 
and energy products for nonresidential use and a total exclusion from sales tax on sales and 
purchases of two other energy products, also for nonresidential use. These changes became 
effective on July 1, 2008.  

The elimination by these acts of the one percent rate imposed by La. R.S. 47:321(H) means that, 
as of July 1, 2008, the state sales tax rate on sales of electric power or energy and natural gas for 
nonresidential use will be reduced from 3.3 percent to 2.3 percent, the sum of the remaining two 
percent rate imposed by La. R.S. 47:302(R)(1) and the 0.3 percent rate imposed by La. R.S. 
47:331(P), and the rate of tax on sales of steam and water will be reduced from 3.8 percent to 2.8 
percent, the sum of the remaining 2 percent rate imposed by La. R.S. 47:302(R)(1) and the 0.8 
percent rate imposed by La. R.S. 47:331(P).  

Natural gas, electricity, and water sold to consumers for residential use have since July 1, 2003, 
been exempt from the state sales and use tax, as provided by Article VII, Section 2.2 of the 
Louisiana Constitution. Sales of steam, water, natural gas, and electric power or energy, for 
either residential or nonresidential use are exempt from the sales and use taxes of political 
subdivisions of the state, as provided by La. R.S. 47:305(D)(1)(b), (c), (d), and (g), and La. R.S. 
47:337.9(C)(7), (8), (9), and (12).  

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:301(10)(x), as amended by Act 9, provides that for taxable periods 
beginning on or after July 1, 2008, the sale or purchase by any person of butane and propane will 
be excluded from the sales and use tax imposed by the State of Louisiana and the Louisiana 
Tourism Promotion District. Before July 1, sales of butane and propane were excluded from state 
sales and use taxes only when sold to consumers for residential use. 

Acts 1 and 9 both amended La. R.S. 47:301(10)(x) relative to the exclusion of certain energy 
products from the definition of the terms “retail sale” or “sale at retail” for purposes of the four 
percent sales and use tax imposed by the State of Louisiana and the Louisiana Tourism 
Promotion District. However, since Act 9 was the last expression of legislative will during the 
Second Extraordinary Legislative Session, the amendments to La. R.S. 47:301(10)(x) by Act 9 
are controlling and supersede the amendments to the same statute by Act 1.  

Utility companies are required to remit the state sales tax on the sales tax return for the month in 
which they invoice their customers. For example, if a customer’s utility meter is read on 
July 5, 2008, and an invoice is rendered to the customer on July 6, the state sales tax on that 
invoice is payable to the Department with the utility's July 2008, sales tax return which is due on 
or before August 20. 
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Utility companies must use a special formula to calculate the taxes due for metered service 
periods that include days before and after the July 1, 2008, rate change. For example, if a 
nonresidential meter is read on July 5, 2008, with 30 days in the service period since the previous 
reading, 25/30ths of the charges for the period will be subject to the tax at the 3.3 percent rate 
that was applicable before July 1, 2008. The remainder or 5/30ths of the charges for the period 
will be subject to the 2.3 percent rate applicable to nonresidential sales for periods on and after 
July 1, 2008. These fractions will change for each meter reading date.  

Questions can be direct to the Department’s Taxpayer Services Division at 225-219-7356. 

Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 


